Rebecca Black – Friday: Another example of our evolving society

Let me introduce you to the latest phenom on YouTube: Rebecca Black. Her music video and song, “Friday”, has received – drum roll please – 83,109,914 hits as of April 4, 2011. Since Friday The Day really appeals to my most basic of human desires: TO STOP WORKING FOR THE MAN FOR TWO WHOLE DAYS, I decided to head on over to YouTube and have a listen. After all, I like Friday very much because Saturday and then Sunday comes next.

Rebecca Black appears to be a nice enough young lass. Her singing certainly won’t get her too far on American Idol but YouTube has granted her worldwide fame, although it’s a cruel world even on YouTube. She received only 207,677 likes to a rather unflattering 1,645,551 dislikes. Perhaps it’s not her singing that’s generating the negative comments but the whole canvas that this work of art is painted on.

For starters, the lyrics are … shall we say … the poetry of today’s American government schooled students. Here’s a sample:

7am, waking up in the morning
Gotta be fresh, gotta go downstairs
Gotta have my bowl, gotta have cereal
Seein’ everything, the time is goin’
Tickin’ on and on, everybody’s rushin’
Gotta get down to the bus stop
Gotta catch my bus, I see my friends (My friends)

Partyin’, partyin’ (Yeah)
Partyin’, partyin’ (Yeah)
Fun, fun, fun, fun
Lookin’ forward to the weekend

Sheer genius! The rest of the lyrics are equally … well … let’s just say they reflect the mentality of the modern American Middle School student.

The video scenes while not necessarily decadent, extend a vision of America that says, “We have way too much of everything.” The overused expression, “too much time on their hands” seems fresh when viewing this spectacle of American silliness. I had this eerie mental picture of Rome right before it fell. Everybody was eating and drinking and making merry just before the Visigoths rolled in to rape, pillage, murder, and burn.

7:45, we’re drivin’ on the highway
Cruisin’ so fast, I want time to fly
Fun, fun, think about fun
You know what it is
I got this, you got this
My friend is by my right
I got this, you got this
Now you know it

Kickin’ in the front seat
Sittin’ in the back seat
Gotta make my mind up
Which seat can I take?

From here, OMG! – via a miracle in modern science, we can go watch various comedians ask young twits on the street questions like, “Who bombed Pearl Harbor?” The answer: “giggle giggle I don’t know…” and from another individual, “We did…”

Question: “Who did we fight against in WWII?” Answer: “That was Vietnam, right….?”

I think the evolutionist has a lot of explaining to do.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

